Grace or Judgement

I am thankful for grace and redemption.  One of my goals this year to extend grace more often – and cut back on the judgement.  Defining grace in terms of how we show it in daily life is not easy, at least for me.  I can only explain it through examples – and for me as a Christian, I think about how Jesus offered grace.

The Good Samaritan is a great story, no matter what your faith background is.   Samaritans were sworn enemies of the Jewish people, and yet it is that enemy, rather than the religious elite of the time, who helps the beaten man on the side of the road.  It was grace – the recognition of common humanity and its divine spark – that made the Samaritan stop and help.  The religious establishment walked on by.

I also happen to be a United Methodist Christian, and could easily launch into John Wesley’s concept of grace (it has 3 parts, and can be confusing to non-UM’s).  When I say that I want to extend grace more to people, it means I must recognize the divine spark in them.  See them for who they are, not my conception or idea of what I think they should be.  Be open to what they offer in spite of the flaws I think I see.

Because many people in my life do this for me.  And it matters.

Grace must find expression in life, otherwise it is not grace.  – Karl Barth

Curse or bless, what’s your preference/either way, it makes a difference – Eric Bibb, Forgiveness is Gold



Tagged with: , , ,
Posted in faith, Life
One comment on “Grace or Judgement
  1. This is something we could all resolve to be better at.

Leave a Reply

@laurahallen on Twitter

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 2,138 other followers

Categories
