New Year, new blog

Spent most of the day setting up another blog.  I realized that SpinBeat is where I write about life (mine, mostly).  Writing about that from the angle of music makes sense, because that’s where everything starts for me.

I thought that a sudden attempt at story-telling from a more journalistic perspective is better suited in a space just for that. So, if you want to read about those ideas, check it out here.

Meanwhile, here’s the playlist currently looping in the old noggin.

1. Chameleon – Herbie Hancock
Great jazz fusion masterpiece that I will love forever.  Last time I played this tune was at the Empty Glass with some great musicians I was somehow allowed to play with – Derek Kirk (R.I.P.), Ryan Kennedy, John Ingram, and others.   I’m a better musician than I ever would have been if I hadn’t played with them. These guys play (played in Derek’s case) at a very high level, and tolerated me trying to keep up.

2. 40/Gloria – U2
This is me, so of course U2 is on this list.  These are both old songs from the band’s early days.

3. Positively Inclined – Wax Tailor
Will make you see the good in hip-hop.  Discovered Wax throughPandora this year, and the video is great.

4. Wait So Long – Trampled by Turtles
Punk and thrash rock  meets bluegrass, and the world is a better place for it.

5. Vicious Circle – Lou Reed
This came up on one of my Pandora stations today.  Was a good backdrop for setting up the new blog, which for now will focus on homelessness, poverty, and the erosion of the middle class.

Tagged with: , , , , , ,
Posted in Life, Music
One comment on “New Year, new blog
  1. I checked out the other blog. What a great read.

Leave a Reply

@laurahallen on Twitter

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 2,138 other followers

Categories
