Walking

The man went from trash can to trash can, his bike balanced by plastic bags full of the treasures he had already found.

Man on a Bike

I was walking to the mall, on my way to Sears to pick up our car.  I’ve walked a lot since May. 

In May, our ‘93 Buick Century was hit so hard it was jacked up two feet from the ground.

We decided to try and make it on one car until the end of the year, just to see if we could.  We live in a great walking neighborhood – I’m three blocks from work; four from downtown.

Since May, I’ve seen Charleston from a walker’s perspective.  I’ve noticed my neighbors, struggling to get by, digging through trash cans and riding bikes in 30 degree weather.

I’ve walked by the Hallelujah! sculpture at the Clay Center at least once a day (and for the record, I like it).  I’ve crossed intersections where cars don’t seem to notice human beings at all.  Crossing the street on the corner of Leon Sullivan Way and Washington street is an act of daily risk.

You notice your neighbors, rich and poor (mostly poor), when you walk with them.

Tagged with: , ,
Posted in Life, Photos

Leave a Reply

@laurahallen on Twitter

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 2,138 other followers

Categories
