Manger

Driving home from church yesterday, I caught a glimpse of color out of the corner of my eye. I went around the block, parked and got out of the car.  I approached the pile of (rags? clothes?) cautiously, in case somebody was sleeping: “Hello,” I called out.

somebody sleeps here...

One thing I’ve learned to do in my current gig is balance a desire for ‘the picture’ with the respect people deserve.  The poor and homeless aren’t there after all, to be part of a photographic zoo for the rest of us.

I took the picture and got back in the car.  “You can call it ‘Manger’,” said my husband.  Smart one, he is.  Jesus slept, after all, in similar quarters (at least we are told) at one time.

Then, this morning, a story in the Washington Post about a man who uses social media to advocate for the homeless.

Eric Sheptock was abandoned in a hotel room with a gash in his head when he was 8 months old.  He’s been homeless for years, and uses Facebook, Twitter, and a couple of blogs to connect his cause with the government of Washington D.C.

If God came to earth in the way we are told in the Gospels, when he/she comes back, they might be laid in this 21st century manger.

I think Eric Sheptock would notice.  Would we?  During our season of waiting (Advent), I wonder.

Tagged with: , , , , ,
Posted in faith, Life

Leave a Reply

@laurahallen on Twitter

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 2,138 other followers

Categories
