Discovering music – twitter style

I’ll never forget the day I discovered the Boomtown Rats.  I found The Fine Art of Surfacing one day in the bargain cassette bin of the local Sam Goody store (remember them?).  My hard-earned cash from the morning paper route often went to music – usually to the cast-off stuff that hadn’t been hit-worthy.

That feeling of risk (what will this sound like/is it worth $4?), followed by the joy of discovering a new artist is what I loved in those young days of music exploration.

Today, I’ll do that with Marian Call, a singer I had never heard of until I noticed a friend’s tweet about Call’s tour.  She’s trying to play all 50 states, using only social media/the Internet to book her gigs.  In the past few days I’ve been listening to her music…it’s geeky (which means I dig it) and sounds pretty good.  In the plus column, she did a tune for the outstanding short-run sci-fi series Firefly, of which hubby and I are big fans (we are geeks, after all).

Here’s the vid:

Off to Taylor Books to hear Marian.  She’s agreed to let me interview her.  I’ll post the audio and, hopefully some pictures here in the next day or so.

Tagged with: , , ,
Posted in Life, Music, New Media

Leave a Reply

@laurahallen on Twitter

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 2,139 other followers

Categories
