Doing what you love

I was out and about this weekend when I saw a guy pick up a saw and start playing it.  It was a spooky, ethereal, otherwordly sound, and I had the means…so I recorded it and asked the guy to tell me about it.

It felt good.  I love telling stories, and there is something special about listening to people talk about what they do.

Listen to ‘musical saw’ here.

My trombone teacher at UNC-G used to tell me often that we do what we love because we have to.

Now I understand.  Thanks, Dr. K!

Tagged with: , ,
Posted in audio pieces, Music, New Media
One comment on “Doing what you love
  1. Saw Lady says:

    Do you know how to contact this gentleman? If you can, please tell him to come play at the annual Musical Saw Festival in NYC: http://www.MusicalSawFestival.org – he will meet a lot of people who share his passion.
    Thanks!

    Saw Lady
    http://www.SawLady.com

Leave a Reply

@laurahallen on Twitter

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 2,139 other followers

Categories
