One Car Family

Today, I turned 42, and I have to admit it felt good.

I’m 15 pounds lighter than I was a year ago; within one size of my wedding dress.  We’re eating better in my house – more salad, veggies, fruit – less chips and almost no processed food.

And we’re down to one car, though not through any altruistic planning.  On Mother’s Day I was out in the garden for my morning inspection when I heard a loud crash out on the street.  Here’s what I saw:

The 1993 Buick Century 'lifted up.'

The car in this picture belonged for a long time to my husband’s great-uncle Herbert.  Yes, it’s an older car, but it was in excellent condition, rode like a sofa on wheels.  A shame to see a perfectly good real metal car go out this way – hit on the street by an older guy who blacked out at the wheel.

I felt bad for him.  He wasn’t hurt, more shocked and sad.  He apologized.  It was an awkward moment for all parties.

Hubby and I talked it over, and we decided to wait until the end of the year to buy a new vehicle (honda clearance, anyone?).  Our lifestyle now is great, really.  Everything is close enough to walk or bike to – the bakery, the farmers market, my job, his job, downtown…you get the idea.

We decided to get our bikes out of the basement and get them back on the road.  Jeff has a collectors item for a bike – a 35 year old Schwinn SuperSport.  Great blue color – I’m jealous, actually.  My ride is a 1994 Diamondback Sorrento – I used to trail/mountain ride quite a bit.

We picked them up on Friday and went for our first ride together that evening…what a rush.  My brother told me once (after biking/backpacking most of England) that “the world looks different from a bike.”  He said he appreciated what he saw more.  I gotta agree, and the breeze in your face doesn’t hurt either.

The trusty mountain bike

42 and I feel like a kid again. I’m in the best shape I’ve been in since my 20s – I feel physically and mentally sharper because I’m active.  The bike is just another part of that.

And, in the wake of the never-ending oil spill in the Gulf of Mexico, I have to think it’s just the right thing to do.  Why have 2 cars unless you really need to?  Maybe this experiment will last longer than 6 months.  We’ll see.

Tagged with: , ,
Posted in Life

Leave a Reply

@laurahallen on Twitter

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 2,138 other followers

Categories
