Would you like to be wooed like that?

Seems like yesterday I held my panasonic boom box (with double cassette decks) up to my parents old stereo speakers to record Destroyer by the Kinks onto cassette.

In the 80s, trips to NYC always meant a stop at Tower Records.  One of my favorite finds was a Duke Ellington/Teresa Brewer collection I found for $2.99 in the bargain bin.  Over the years, The Boomtown Rats, Sparks, Debussy, and Rachmaninoff became part of my music collection because of Tower Records.

Now, it’s all about Pandora.

I’d say my favorite discovery of the year is Kid Koala.  Somehow, Pandora came up with his stuff after I added ‘Grandmaster Flash’ as an artist I liked to my station.

Pandora is like the bargain bin, except it’s better.  More music to discover – and I can share it with friends via Facebook and Twitter.  I control some of what gets played – but through the musical genome project, Pandora takes me in many different directions.

I’m not sure how long it would have taken me to get into Pandora if I had kept hosting music on public radio.  It’s human nature (at least it’s my nature) to protect and defend what one knows.  I still believe that a well-crafted thoughtful playlist designed with listeners in mind, hosted by a live person is a good thing.

But I do love Pandora…and Kid Koala:

Posted in Music, New Media

Leave a Reply

@laurahallen on Twitter

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 2,139 other followers

Categories
