3 Songs

3 songs I heard on Pandora this morning and what came into my head:

I Will Follow – U2U2_Boy
I’ve always loved the energy and garage-band aesthetic in this song, the second single released by the band from their debut album ‘Boy’.  Using the upper register of the xylophone adds a brittleness to the sound – one of the early uses of that instrument in a guitar-rock driven instrumentation.  That was ahead of it’s time, I think.  Other groups had used keyboard percussion before, but it really stands out on this track.

Start Me Up – Rolling Stones
TattooYou81Taking my paper route money while my family lived in Stamford, CT and going to Caldor to buy music.  I could walk from my house down to the mall and retail district of Stamford.  I think I paid $8.99 for Tattoo You, which has to be one of the best album covers from the 80s.

Under Pressure – Queen with David Bowie
I see the band room at Westhill High School (also in Stamford) in every detail when I hear this tune.  Our jazz band was pretty good (we actually won awards at the Berklee College of Music in the early 80’s) and would try anything.  Several of us would hang in the bandrooom (I cut algebra) to work out songs we’d been hearing.   I’m not saying we were great or anything – just that this song made an impression.  Listening to it this morning, I thought the lyrics are pretty fresh for the times we are in:

Insanity laughs under pressure we’re cracking
Can’t we give ourselves one more chance
Why can’t we give love that one more chance
Why can’t we give love give love give love give love
give love give love give love give love give love
‘Cause love’s such an old fashioned word
And love dares you to care for
The people on the edge of the night
And love dares you to change our way of
Caring about ourselves


Tagged with: , , , ,
Posted in Music, Music Monday

Leave a Reply

@laurahallen on Twitter

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 2,138 other followers

Categories
